The short answer
The best mattress in a box in Canada is the Douglas Summit Hybrid. It is the top-scoring Canadian mattress in NapLab’s independent testing at 9.44 out of 10, it lists at C$1,449 for a queen, and it comes with a 365-night trial and a 15-year warranty. If you want to spend less, the Endy Mattress (C$895 queen, NapLab 9.09) is the best Canadian-made foam bed, and the Silk & Snow Hybrid (from C$890 in its smallest size in October 2026; C$1,030 Medium-Firm queen list in June 2026) is the cheapest well-tested hybrid. The Douglas Original at C$799 is the budget pick, and Puffy is the only big-name US brand on our list that ships to Canada direct.
Two things make the Canadian market different from the American one. First, the brands that dominate US rankings mostly don’t sell here; DreamCloud, Nectar, Saatva and Bear are absent, as our US mattress in a box guide explains. Second, several Canadian review sites are owned by mattress companies. We point out those conflicts and lean on NapLab, which tests Canadian beds with one method, plus RTINGS, Sleep Foundation and Mattress Clarity.
9.44
Douglas Summit Hybrid
Top NapLab score among Canadian beds
C$799
Cheapest tested pick
Douglas Original, queen list
365
Night trial at all 5 picks
Casper Snow: 100 nights
Canadian mattress-in-a-box brands, by price
Here’s the whole Canadian bed-in-a-box market on one price ladder. The cluster at the bottom is the interesting part: three tested, Canadian-made mattresses sit within about C$100 of each other, all under C$900 for a queen. Above C$1,400 you are paying for coils, zoning and cooling covers, or for a US brand name.
Canadian bed-in-a-box ladder · queen list price (CAD)
Douglas Original · All-foam · NapLab 9.05
C$799
Endy Mattress · All-foam · NapLab 9.09
C$895
Silk & Snow Hybrid · Hybrid · NapLab 8.86
C$1,030
Medium-Firm list (brand, Jun 2026); C$875.50 at 15% off · Firm C$925 · from C$890 smallest size (Oct 2026)
Logan & Cove Choice · Hybrid · NapLab 8.79
C$1,199
Douglas Summit Hybrid · Hybrid · NapLab 9.44
C$1,449
Puffy Lux (Canada) · All-foam · RTINGS-tested
C$1,499
“starts at”, size not stated
Octave Horizon · Memory foam · NapLab 8.98
C$1,599
Casper Snow · Cooling · NapLab 8.77
C$2,399
NapLab’s price; casper.ca: Wave Hybrid Snow from C$3,499 (Oct 2026)
Ghostbed Luxe · Memory foam · NapLab 8.85
C$2,449
Canadian brandUS/foreign brand selling in Canada
Sources: NapLab Best Mattress Canada; douglas.ca; silkandsnow.com (archived Jun 2026); puffy.ca. List prices before the near-constant sales.
Read the ladder with one caveat: these are list prices. Canadian online brands run sales almost continuously, and a 15–20% discount is normal outside the big events. Our best time to buy a mattress guide covers when the deepest cuts usually land, which in Canada still means Black Friday, Boxing Day and the long weekends. Never pay list for a boxed bed unless you need it this week.
Notice that the most expensive beds are not the best-scoring ones. Casper Snow and Ghostbed Luxe sit at the top of the price ladder but below the Douglas Summit, Endy and the Douglas Original in NapLab’s ranking, and they come with shorter trials (100 and 101 nights). In Canada, price is a poor guide to quality in this category.
Best mattress in a box Canada: the picks compared
The table pulls together the four Canadian picks from our main best mattress Canada guide. Trustpilot scores are brand-level, so read them as a customer-service signal rather than a comfort score.
| Mattress | Type | Firmness | Price | Trial | Warranty | Trustpilot |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Douglas Summit Hybrid Best overall (CA) | Hybrid | Medium-firm (6/10, NapLab) | Queen C$1,449 · six models: Original/Alpine/Summit foam C$799/999/1,299, hybrid C$949/1,149/1,449 | 365 nights | 15 years | 4.8★ (2,229) |
| Silk & Snow Hybrid Best value hybrid (CA) | Hybrid · 4 lb high-density memory foam over zoned Canadian-made pocket coils (brand: “1,200+”; June 2026 spec: 1,000 in a queen) · Firm / Medium-Firm / Plush | Medium-firm (6/10 NapLab; 6.5 Mattress Clarity) | From C$890, smallest size (silkandsnow.com, 27 Oct 2026; free Classic Sleep Bundle with it) · queen list on 26 Jun 2026 (archived): Medium-Firm C$1,030 · Firm C$925 · Plush C$1,495 | 365 nights, free shipping & returns | 15 years (archived May 2026 terms: free for 10; you pay 75% in years 11–15; void if moved out of the country of purchase) | 3.7★ (522) |
| The Endy Mattress Best Canadian-made foam / on Amazon.ca | All-foam · Plush 11″ / Medium-Firm 10″ / Firm 9″ | Medium-firm version: 7/10 (NapLab) | Queen C$895 (Plush C$1,095) | 365 nights | 15 years | 4.3★ (315) |
| Puffy Lux (Canadian all-foam version) Best US brand that ships to Canada | All-foam · 6 layers · 12.2in | Firm (RTINGS 67 Pa/mm; ~7.5/10 is our conversion; puffy.ca says medium-plush) | From C$1,499 (size not stated on puffy.ca) | 365 nights | Lifetime | 3.2★ (158) |
Trustpilot scores, Canada picks (brand-level)
Out of 5. Review count in brackets: small samples swing wildly. A service signal, not a comfort score.
4.0+ good3.0–3.9 mixedunder 3 — read the complaints first
The service gap is big. Douglas holds 4.8 stars from more than 2,200 reviews, Endy 4.3, Silk & Snow 3.7 and Puffy 3.2. When you buy a mattress you can’t try first, the company’s willingness to pick it up again matters almost as much as the foam, so we weight that gap heavily.
How we chose the best boxed mattresses in Canada
We don’t claim to have slept on these beds. Instead we gather the evidence other people have measured, and we explain how we weigh it on our how we rate page. For Canada, that meant four filters.
- It must ship compressed to a Canadian address from a Canadian storefront. A US site that redirects or adds cross-border duties doesn’t count.
- It needs an independent test. NapLab’s Canadian ranking is the backbone because it tests the beds Canadians actually buy. RTINGS supplies data for Puffy’s Canadian version, and Sleep Foundation and Mattress Clarity fill gaps.
- Long trial, real warranty. All five picks offer 365 nights. We skipped beds with 100-night trials unless they were exceptional, and none were.
- No conflicted rankings. GoodMorning.com, which owns Douglas, Octave and Logan & Cove, also owns Mattress-Reviews.com. We ignore that site and similar brand-owned lists entirely.
It’s worth saying plainly that Douglas still came out on top under those rules. NapLab is not owned by GoodMorning, and it ranked the Summit Hybrid first; thousands of Trustpilot reviews point the same way. The conflict means you should double-check, not that the mattress is bad.
The 5 best mattresses in a box in Canada
Each card below shows the evidence: firmness, CAD price, policies, what expert reviewers concluded and what owners say. Our verdict on each is in the text inside the card.
#1 · Best overall (CA)
Douglas Summit Hybrid
Hybrid
6/10 · Medium-firm — Medium-firm (6/10, NapLab)
Best overall bed in a box in Canada. The Summit Hybrid is Douglas’s flagship: a 14-inch hybrid with zoned pocket coils that arrives compressed like the cheaper foam models. NapLab scored it 9.44, gave it perfect 10s for pressure relief and motion transfer, and measured high bounce for a boxed bed. That combination is rare: most beds that isolate motion this well feel stuck, and most bouncy beds shake when a partner rolls over.
The trade-offs are real but narrow. It has minimal sinkage, so people who want to sink into memory foam won’t get that hug, and NapLab logged about 14 days of off-gassing, which is long. If you’re smell-sensitive, unbox it in a room you can air out for two weeks. Full detail is in our Douglas mattress review.
What owners & testers like
- 365-night trial
- Top independent test score
- 4.8★ Trustpilot (brand-wide, all models)
Watch out for
- Minimal sinkage — little hug; ~14-day off-gassing (NapLab)
- Owner GoodMorning.com also runs review sites — conflict
- Edges compress for heavier people
Best for
👍 Side/back sleepers, couples, pressure reliefNot best for
✋ People who want a deep sink-in hug, heavier edge sittersWhat expert reviewers concluded
- NapLab
Top-scoring Canadian mattress tested (9.44) — 10/10 pressure relief and motion transfer, high bounce (11.22″), minimal sinkage, ~14-day off-gassing.
- Sleep Foundation (Original)
Suits 130–230 lb back sleepers; not ideal for most stomach sleepers.
In owners’ words
“Amazing sleep from night one.”
#2 · Best Canadian-made foam / on Amazon.ca
The Endy Mattress
All-foam · Plush 11″ / Medium-Firm 10″ / Firm 9″
7/10 · Firm — Medium-firm version: 7/10 (NapLab)
Best Canadian-made foam mattress, and the one to get on Amazon.ca. The Endy is the bed that made boxed mattresses mainstream in Canada, and it still holds up: NapLab scored it 9.09 and named it the best foam bed on its Canadian list, praising its value at C$895 for a queen. It now comes in Firm, Medium-Firm and Plush. Medium-Firm is the one most couples and back sleepers should choose.
Its weak spots are the usual all-foam ones. Sleep Foundation scored its edges 6.5 and durability 5.5, and it can sleep warm. It is not for people over about 230 lb. Endy now offers free pickup on returns and says it donates returned mattresses where possible, which is the cleanest return policy we found. See the Endy review for the Elevate Hybrid and all six feels.
What owners & testers like
- Canadian-made (Sleep Country, owned by Fairfax)
- Excellent motion isolation
- 365-night trial, three firmness options
Watch out for
- Can sleep warm
- Edges 6.5, durability 5.5 (Sleep Foundation)
- Not for sleepers over 230 lb
Best for
👍 Couples, side/back sleepersNot best for
✋ Sleepers over 230 lb, stomach & hot sleepersWhat expert reviewers concluded
- NapLab
Responsive foam, low motion transfer, strong value (9.09).
- Sleep Foundation
8.9/10: pressure relief 8.5, motion isolation 8.0, but edges 6.5 and durability 5.5; not for most sleepers over 230 lb.
#3 · Best value hybrid (CA)
Silk & Snow Hybrid
Hybrid · 4 lb high-density memory foam over zoned Canadian-made pocket coils (brand: “1,200+”; June 2026 spec: 1,000 in a queen) · Firm / Medium-Firm / Plush
6/10 · Medium-firm — Medium-firm (6/10 NapLab; 6.5 Mattress Clarity)
Best value hybrid. Silk & Snow gets you pocket coils for not much more than an all-foam Endy: C$1,030 list for a Medium-Firm queen on its archived June 2026 page, C$875.50 at 15% off, or C$925 for the Firm. On 27 October 2026 it started from C$890 in the smallest size, with a free Classic Sleep Bundle (sheets, duvet, pillows and protector) instead of a discount. NapLab scored it 8.86 and liked its edges; Mattress Clarity rated it 6.5/10 for firmness and called it well-rounded. It comes in Plush, Medium-Firm and Firm, at 11, 12 or 14 inches tall according to Mattress Clarity, over 9-inch zoned coils in the Firm and Medium-Firm and 8-inch coils in the Plush per the brand’s spec table.
Two warnings. NapLab says cooling could be better, and Silk & Snow’s 3.7 Trustpilot score is the weakest of the Canadian brands, with complaints about service. You must also sleep on it for at least 30 nights before starting a return, per Mattress Clarity, and the 15-year warranty is only free for ten years — after that you pay 75% of the original price. NapLab advises caution for sleepers over 250 lb. If those don’t bother you, it is the cheapest route to a coil bed in Canada. More in our Silk & Snow review and best hybrid mattress Canada guide.
What owners & testers like
- Cheap for a hybrid (from C$890)
- 365-night trial, free shipping & returns
- Good edges and motion isolation
Watch out for
- Average cooling
- Too soft for stomach sleepers (Medium-Firm)
- Mixed service reviews
- Warranty is effectively 10 free years
Best for
👍 Side/back sleepers and couples on a budgetNot best for
✋ Stomach sleepers, sleepers over 250 lb (NapLab: caution over 250 lb, a different bed over 300 lb)What expert reviewers concluded
- NapLab
Affordable hybrid with good edges; cooling could be better (8.86).
- Mattress Clarity
Well-rounded: cooling, motion isolation, versatile support.
In owners’ words
“Beautiful Bedding, Incredible Comfort, and Exceptional Customer Service”
“Poor customer service, I can't recommend this company”
#4 · Best budget bed in a box (CA)
Douglas Original
All-foam · Queen C$799 · 365 nights · 15-year warranty
The cheapest mattress on our list that has a published independent test. NapLab scored the Douglas Original 9.05, almost level with the Endy, and calls it the budget alternative to the Summit, noting it costs C$700 less. It gets the same 365-night trial and 15-year warranty as Douglas’s flagship and the same service team behind the 4.8-star Trustpilot record.
What you give up: Mattress Clarity flagged weak edges and estimated a five-to-seven-year lifespan, which is short. Sleepopolis also reports that Douglas has made the Original firmer, so older firmness scores may not match the current bed. Buy it for a guest room, a first apartment or a teenager’s room, not as a forever bed for two adults.
#5 · Best US brand that ships to Canada
Puffy Lux (Canadian all-foam version)
All-foam · 6 layers · 12.2in
7.5/10 · Firm — Firm (RTINGS 67 Pa/mm; ~7.5/10 is our conversion; puffy.ca says medium-plush)
Best US brand that ships to Canada. Puffy is the exception among American boxed brands: puffy.ca sells the Cloud (from C$899), Lux (from C$1,499) and Royal (from C$1,649) with free shipping, a 365-night trial and a lifetime warranty. Note that the Canadian Puffy Lux is an all-foam bed, not the hybrid Americans buy, and RTINGS tested it separately.
RTINGS found it firm, with 8.3 for edge support and motion isolation, but only 7.1 for side sleepers and 5.3 for durability. That makes it a bed for average-to-heavier back and stomach sleepers, not for lighter side sleepers. At these prices, the Douglas Summit is the better buy for most people; choose Puffy if you specifically want a firm foam bed and a lifetime warranty. The US version is covered in our Puffy Lux review.
What owners & testers like
- 365-night trial
- Lifetime warranty
- Great edges and motion isolation (RTINGS 8.3)
Watch out for
- Low-quality foams — RTINGS durability 5.3
- Not ideal for side sleepers (RTINGS 7.1)
- Different bed from the US Lux Hybrid
Best for
👍 Average/heavier back & stomach sleepers, couplesNot best for
✋ Side sleepers, lighter people, hot sleepers, value huntersWhat expert reviewers concluded
- RTINGS (Canadian version)
Firm all-foam: edges and motion isolation 8.3, stomach 7.6, back 7.5, side 7.1; durability 5.3.
Douglas vs Endy vs Silk & Snow: which Canadian boxed bed?
These three are the brands almost every Canadian shopper ends up comparing. On paper they look interchangeable: all three are Canadian-made, all three offer 365-night trials and 15-year warranties, and all three ship compressed in a box. The differences are in the build, the price and the service.
For all-foam, Endy and the Douglas Original are a near tie. NapLab scored them 9.09 and 9.05. The Douglas is C$96 cheaper at list; the Endy comes in three firmnesses, so a stomach sleeper or a heavier back sleeper can pick Firm, which Douglas doesn’t offer on the Original. Endy also spells out free pickup and donation on its product page. If you’re undecided, pick Endy for choice of feel and Douglas for the service record.
For a hybrid, it depends on budget. The Douglas Summit Hybrid is the better mattress by every measure NapLab publishes, but it cost about C$420 more than a Medium-Firm Silk & Snow Hybrid at list (C$1,449 vs C$1,030 on Silk & Snow’s June 2026 page), and more than that when Silk & Snow is on sale. If that money matters, Silk & Snow gets you coils, good edges and the same trial length. If it doesn’t, the Summit is the safer purchase thanks to its higher scores and much stronger owner reviews.
One more thing to watch: brand comparison pages. Douglas’s own homepage table lists Endy’s warranty as 10 years, while Endy’s product page says 15 years, with coverage reduced after year 10. Neither is lying exactly, but it shows why you should read each brand’s terms yourself instead of trusting a competitor’s chart.
Puffy, Casper and Purple in Canada
A lot of Canadians search for US brands they’ve seen in American reviews and podcasts. Here is where the big names stand as of October 2026.
- Puffy sells direct through puffy.ca in CAD, with free shipping and returns. The Canadian lineup and prices differ from the US store, and the Canadian Lux is all-foam. It’s our pick #5, and the Puffy entry in our Canada guide carries the RTINGS data.
- Casper sells in Canada. NapLab lists the Casper Snow at C$2,399 for a queen with a 100-night trial and 10-year warranty, and called it “nearly twice as expensive as the average.” It scored 8.77 and won NapLab’s cooling award, so it’s an option for very hot sleepers with a big budget, but the short trial puts it behind our picks. On casper.ca itself (27 October 2026), the Canadian range is The Casper foam mattress from C$999, the Original Hybrid from C$1,099 and the Wave Hybrid Snow from C$3,499, each in Plush, Medium or Firm, with 15% off sitewide — so NapLab’s C$2,399 Snow price looks dated.
- Purple appears among the brands listed on Costco.ca’s mattress page. We couldn’t confirm current Canadian models, prices or whether those listings ship compressed, so check the listing and Costco’s return terms before you buy.
- DreamCloud, Nectar, Saatva and Bear don’t sell direct in Canada, according to the research behind our main Canada guide. If a Canadian address seems to work at checkout, check the currency and the return terms carefully.
Our honest take: the best Canadian brands are as good as the American ones at boxed beds, and you avoid any currency or cross-border return headaches. Unless you specifically want a firm Puffy, start with the Canadian brands.
Canadian-made bed in a box: who actually makes them here?
If buying Canadian matters to you, the good news is that the best boxed beds in this country happen to be made here. Douglas says its mattresses are made in Canada with Canadian-sourced foams and fabrics. Endy says its beds are “proudly made in Canada” at facilities in Ontario and Quebec. Mattress Clarity describes Silk & Snow as a Canadian-made mattress, and NapLab’s Canadian list was built around beds made in Canada.
Made in Canada
- DouglasMade in Canada with Canadian foams and fabrics; head office Edmonton
- Endy“Proudly made in Canada” — facilities in Ontario and Quebec
- Silk & SnowDescribed as Canadian-made by Mattress Clarity
- Octave · Logan & CoveOn NapLab’s Canadian-made list (GoodMorning.com brands)
Imported / US brands
- PuffyUS brand shipping via puffy.ca; factory location not stated on the site
- Casper · Ghostbed · PurpleUS brands sold in Canada (NapLab prices; Costco.ca lists Ghostbed and Purple)
What do those words legally mean? Canada’s Competition Bureau says a “Made in Canada” claim requires the last substantial transformation of the product to happen in Canada and at least 51% of the total direct costs of making it to be Canadian. So a Made-in-Canada mattress can use some imported chemicals or springs, but the real manufacturing happens here.
The practical benefits are shorter shipping distances, no customs or duty surprises, and a seller that answers to Canadian consumer law. It doesn’t automatically mean better foam, and it says nothing about who owns the brand: Endy belongs to Sleep Country Canada, now part of Fairfax, and Douglas belongs to GoodMorning.com in Edmonton.
Shipping a mattress in a box across Canada, including remote areas
Boxed delivery is the reason these brands can serve a country this big. A compressed mattress travels by ordinary courier, so there’s no need for a truck crew to reach your town. In the cities, it’s fast: Endy says it “ships in as little as 1 day,” and puffy.ca advertises free shipping in one to two days.
Douglas
- Trial
- 365 nights
- Earliest return
- 30 nights (Sleep Advisor)
- Warranty
- 15 years
- Shipping
- Free; “fees may apply for some remote regions”
- Return pickup
- Free returns; donation not stated
- Made in
- Canada
Endy
- Trial
- 365 nights
- Earliest return
- Not stated
- Warranty
- 15 years (reduced after yr 10)
- Shipping
- Free; “ships in as little as 1 day”
- Return pickup
- Free pickup, donated “where possible”
- Made in
- Canada (ON & QC)
Silk & Snow
- Trial
- 365 nights
- Earliest return
- 30 nights (Mattress Clarity)
- Warranty
- 15 years (75% cost in yrs 11–15)
- Shipping
- Free shipping & returns (brand, Oct 2026)
- Return pickup
- Free pickup; tries to donate
- Made in
- Canada
Puffy (puffy.ca)
- Trial
- 365 nights
- Earliest return
- Not confirmed
- Warranty
- Lifetime
- Shipping
- Free, “1–2 days”; regions not stated
- Return pickup
- “Free returns”; donation not stated
- Made in
- US brand; origin not stated
Casper Snow
- Trial
- 100 nights
- Earliest return
- —
- Warranty
- 10 years
- Shipping
- Not checked
- Return pickup
- Not checked
- Made in
- US brand
Yukon, NWT, Nunavut?
None of the four brand sites we opened states territory delivery or return-pickup coverage. Enter your postal code at checkout and get pickup confirmed in writing before you pay.
Sources: douglas.ca, endy.com, puffy.ca, Mattress Clarity, Sleep Advisor, NapLab (Casper). Oct 2026.
The gap is the North and other remote areas. Douglas is the only brand whose site we checked that addresses them, with a footnote that “shipping fees may apply for some remote regions.” Endy, Puffy and Silk & Snow advertise free shipping without saying, on the pages we could open, whether that covers Yukon, the Northwest Territories, Nunavut, or remote parts of Newfoundland and Labrador, northern Quebec and the northern Prairies. We’d rather say that plainly than guess.
If you live remotely, the bigger risk is not delivery but return. A 365-night trial is only worth something if the brand can collect the bed. Before ordering:
- Put your postal code into checkout and confirm the shipping charge before you enter a card.
- Email the brand and ask whether return pickup is available at your address, and what happens if it isn’t. Keep the reply.
- Ask whether a refund is reduced if you have to arrange your own disposal or drop-off.
- Check the box dimensions against your door and stairs; a boxed queen hybrid is heavy for one person.
In winter, let a box that has sat in an unheated porch or truck warm up indoors before you open it. Foam expands more slowly when it’s cold, and you don’t want to judge the feel of a half-expanded bed.
Unboxing timeline: from doorstep to fully expanded
The general advice on expansion and smell in our US bed-in-a-box guide applies equally here. What we can add is the Canadian-brand specifics: how long Endy and Douglas say their beds take, and how long NapLab’s testers noticed a smell.
- Day 0
Order. Endy says it “ships in as little as 1 day”; puffy.ca advertises free 1–2 day shipping.
Endy, Puffy
- Delivery
Courier drops the box at your door. Move it to the bedroom before you open it — you can’t re-box it.
—
- 2–6 h
Usable: Tuft & Needle says you can sleep on its bed in 2–3 hours; Puffy says most beds are ~90% expanded in 4–6 hours.
T&N, Puffy
- ~6 days
NapLab logged about six days of new-foam smell on the Endy.
NapLab
- ~1 week
Endy says its mattress “will reach perfect comfort in about a week.”
Endy
- ~14 days
NapLab measured about 14 days of off-gassing on the Douglas Summit Hybrid.
NapLab
- 30 nights
Earliest return at Douglas and Silk & Snow, per Sleep Advisor and Mattress Clarity.
Reviews
- 365 nights
Trial ends at Douglas, Endy, Silk & Snow and Puffy. Casper Snow’s ends at 100 nights.
Brands, NapLab
The headline is that you can sleep on a boxed bed the first night, but you shouldn’t judge it then. Endy itself says its mattress reaches “perfect comfort in about a week,” and the Douglas Summit smelled for about two weeks in NapLab’s testing. That is one reason Douglas and Silk & Snow make you wait 30 nights before a return: your body also needs a few weeks to adjust to a new surface.
If the smell bothers you, open windows, keep the bedroom door open, and leave the sheets off for the first day. A 2022 chamber study of memory foam mattresses found VOC levels peaked on the first day and then fell quickly. Keep the plastic wrapping until you’re sure about the bed; Sleep Advisor reports Douglas wants the original covering kept for returns.
Mattress returns and donation in Canada
Nobody re-boxes a mattress. When you return a boxed bed in Canada, the brand sends someone to collect it, and the better brands try to donate it rather than send it to landfill. Here is what each brand publishes.
- Endy is the clearest: “free returns with pickup included, no hidden fees,” and it arranges “where possible, donation of the returned mattress at no charge to you.”
- Silk & Snow will pick up the mattress free of charge and, per Mattress Clarity, makes “the extra effort to donate it,” with a full refund after 30 nights.
- Douglas advertises free shipping and returns and a 365-night trial. Sleep Advisor reports a 30-night minimum and asks you to keep the original plastic. We didn’t find a published donation promise on the pages we opened.
- Puffy advertises free returns on puffy.ca; the detailed Canadian return policy didn’t load for us, so confirm pickup terms before buying.
The practical tip: use a mattress protector from night one. Donation partners can refuse a stained mattress, and a brand may treat a soiled bed as outside its trial. A protector costs far less than the mattress and keeps your return option alive. If you’re keeping the bed but want it softer, a topper is cheaper than a return; see our best mattress topper Canada guide.
30
Nights before return
Douglas and Silk & Snow minimum
C$0
Pickup cost at Endy
Donated where possible
100
Casper Snow trial (nights)
vs 365 at our five picks
Costco and Amazon.ca boxed beds: worth it?
Costco.ca carries a wide range of mattresses. Its mattress category lists brands including Novaform, Polysleep, Cocoon, Ghostbed, Purple, Tempur-Pedic, Sealy, Serta and Kirkland Signature. Some of those are boxed foam beds; some are traditional. We couldn’t verify current model prices or Costco’s mattress return terms from the category page, and none of these models has an independent test we could match to the exact Costco version. Costco’s generous return reputation is real, but it doesn’t replace test data.
Amazon.ca is where many Canadians first see Endy, which has listed there historically. Douglas, by contrast, sells only direct; we found no Douglas listings on Amazon.ca or Costco.ca. Our rule for both marketplaces: buy there only if the listing is sold by the brand itself and the 365-night trial clearly applies. Otherwise, the brand site is the safer choice because the trial, pickup and donation terms above are guaranteed there.
Unbranded boxed foam beds on Amazon.ca can be tempting at a few hundred dollars. For a guest bed they may be fine, but without independent testing or a long trial you are guessing on firmness and durability. Our best memory foam mattress guide explains what foam density does for lifespan.
Decision shortcut
Find your situation below and jump to the card.
If you…
Want the best boxed bed in Canada
If you…
Want Canadian-made foam under C$900
If you…
Want coils on a budget
Get
Silk & Snow HybridFrom C$890 (smallest size, Oct 2026); C$1,030 Medium-Firm queen list in June 2026; good edges (NapLab 8.86).
If you…
Want a firm bed and a lifetime warranty
Still unsure which firmness to choose? Our mattress firmness guide explains how body weight and sleeping position change the answer. The clinical evidence, led by the Kovacs trial in The Lancet, favours medium-firm for people with low-back pain, which is where the Summit, Endy Medium-Firm and Silk & Snow all sit.
Mattress in a box Canada FAQ
What is the best mattress in a box in Canada?
The Douglas Summit Hybrid. It scored 9.44 in NapLab’s testing, the highest of any Canadian mattress, and lists at C$1,449 for a queen with a 365-night trial and 15-year warranty. The Endy (C$895) is the best Canadian-made foam option and Silk & Snow the best value hybrid.
Which mattress in a box is made in Canada?
Douglas, Endy and Silk & Snow are all made in Canada, as are Octave and Logan & Cove. Endy says it manufactures in Ontario and Quebec; Douglas says it uses Canadian foams and fabrics. Puffy, Casper, Ghostbed and Purple are US brands.
Does Puffy ship to Canada?
Yes. Puffy sells through puffy.ca with free shipping, a 365-night trial and a lifetime warranty. The Canadian Puffy Lux is an all-foam bed, different from the US hybrid, and RTINGS tested it separately.
Can you get a mattress in a box delivered to the Yukon, NWT or Nunavut?
Possibly, but none of the brand sites we checked publishes territory terms. Douglas says shipping fees may apply in some remote regions. Enter your postal code at checkout and confirm return pickup in writing before you buy.
How long does a mattress in a box take to expand?
Most are usable within a few hours, but full comfort takes longer. Endy says its mattress reaches full comfort in about a week, and NapLab noted about 14 days of off-gassing on the Douglas Summit Hybrid. Let a cold box warm up indoors first.
What happens to returned mattresses in Canada?
The brand collects them. Endy offers free pickup and donates returns where possible, and Silk & Snow says it tries to donate returned beds. Douglas and Silk & Snow require at least 30 nights before a return.
Is Douglas or Endy better?
They are close. NapLab scored the Endy 9.09 and the Douglas Original 9.05. Endy offers three firmnesses; Douglas is C$96 cheaper and has the stronger Trustpilot record. If you want a hybrid, the Douglas Summit beats anything Endy sells in NapLab’s ranking.